Search engine marketing comes in many forms, from Twitter Cards, Pay Per Click Advertising via Google, Bing, Instagram, and more… There are so many different forms of search marketing, it can be overwhelming to figure out which ones your business should focus on, nevermind the time it takes to actually set up even one account. Did you know that even one account requires you to create text ads, graphic ads in very specific sizes, and ensure that the content you are pointing to matches those ads exactly? Ad agencies and marketing companies often run into problems related to “quality score” or “relevancy”.

So what is quality score or relevance?

Quality score estimates the quality of your advertisements (graphics, text, callouts and more), including keywords and landing pages. Higher quality ads will lead to lower ad cost, and are intentionally given better ad positions. – Google

Google’s primary goal is ensure an incredible user experience. One of the key ways they do this is to give a competitive advantage to companies with the most relevant and highest quality advertisements. For example, every keyword within an AdWords account is given a “quality” rating based on numerous factors that relate to the searching customer’s experience. People searching for a product will be served ads that have the most relevant landing pages and highly tuned search terms or keywords. Ads that perform poorly, won’t show at all or you will pay the maximum amount for the click through.

Search Engine Marketing

A keyword that is initially added to your account is automatically given a starting score of 6 out of 10. The following factors influence the quality score for each keyword by giving it a value between 1 and 10:

  • Expected click-through rate – By taking historical performance of your account (excluding the effect of ad position), Google will estimate the likelihood that a user will click on your ad. This is a good indicator of the relevancy of your ad to the search query.
  • Ad Relevance – This measures how closely your ad matches the keywords within your account. If your ad is recommending where to buy cheap flowers, but appears when someone is searching for the nearest fried chicken shop, you probably want to reassess your ad copy!
  • Landing page experience – This measures the relevancy, loading speed and usability of your landing page. Google aims to promote advertisers who will provide a top notch user experience.

What does quality score do for me?

The better your quality score, the cheaper your clicks. This is based on the following methodology:

By having a higher quality score than your competitor, you can achieve the same position as them in the search engine results page for a much lower price. The goal here is to acquire a lot more traffic for a fraction of the cost of your competitors. Some people refer to this as a CPA target.

The following math equation is used to determine the final position of your advertising when someone is searching your business via the search engine (SE).

Quality Score x Max CPC = Ad Rank

Basically, if you have a quality score of 10 and your competitor only has a quality score of 5, you can achieve the same position in the search engine results with half the bid.
You: 10 x $1.00 = 10 – This means you get 10 leads for $10.00
Competitor: 5 x $1.00 = 10 – This means you get 5 leads for $10.00

This means you will get HALF of the traffic your competitor will get simply because you didn’t configure your account properly. WOW! No wonder so many businesses give up on trying search engine marketing – simply put if you don’t have a professional search engine marketing company setup your advertising and guide you in the right direction, you will waste your money and time.

Atomic 55 has been handling search engine marketing campaigns since the advent of the search engine, and we can help you to generate the most traffic for the lowest cost – period.

Call or chat with us now to learn more about how we can help with your search engine marketing campaign to drive more traffic to your website.
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